skip to content

EPSRC CDT in Sensor Technologies for a Healthy and Sustainable Future

Open-Seneca VC Award Carousel

Open-seneca has won a Vice-Chancellor's Research Impact and Engagement Award!  Twelve students, academics and professional members of staff from across the University of Cambridge received the prestigeous awards in areas as diverse as prostate cancer, family law, museum public engagement and police mental health.

Now in their fourth year, the awards were made in four categories: collaboration, early career, established researcher/academic champion and professional service.

Winners in the collaboration category included PhD student Christoph Franck for an initiative creating a global air pollution sensor network driven by citizen science.

The announcement was made at a prize ceremony held at the Old Schools on 14 October 2019.

Professor Stephen Toope, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge, says: “This year’s nominations recognise impressive and inspirational individuals, and strongly reflect our mission to engage the public, tackle real-world problems and improve people’s lives. The award scheme focuses attention on the increasingly important role that institutions such as ours have to play in restoring faith in experts.”

The Vice-Chancellor’s Research Impact and Engagement Awards were established to recognise and reward outstanding achievement, innovation and creativity in devising and implementing ambitious engagement and impact plans that have the potential to create significant economic, social and cultural impact from and engagement with and for research. Each winner receives a £1,000 grant to be used for the development and delivery of engagement/impact activity or relevant training.


Open-seneca is a student-led initiative creating a global low-cost mobile air pollution sensor network driven by citizen science. The aim of the initiative is to empower citizens with air pollution data to raise awareness, initiate behaviour change, and inform policy makers on environmental issues. The team are: Christoph FranckCharles ChristensenLorena Gordillo DagallierSebastian HorstmannRaphaël Jacquat and Peter Pedersen


Open-Seneca VC Award Article